TONY KOMADINA AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING GIRLS' ATHLETIC PROGRAM

(AIA Bylaws; Article 13, Section 13.3)

In 1987 the AIA Executive Board established the Tony Komadina Award for Outstanding Girls' Athletic Program to recognize schools that demonstrate advocacy of, and progress in, girls' athletics. Mr. Komadina served as Executive Director from 1976 to 1987. The criteria and selection process to determine award recipients are established by the AIA Executive Board.

Schools selected as finalists host an on-site evaluation visit from an AIA selection committee to verify narrative and written data. Following the on-site visits, the committee presents its recommendations to the AIA Executive Board for selection of the award recipients. Two awards may be given: one recipient from the 1A-3A Conference and one recipient from the 4A-5A Conference.

Recipients of Tony Komadina Award for Outstanding Girls' Athletic Program

2008-09	Winslow (1A-3A)	1998-99	North Canyon High School (4A-5A)
2008-09	Seton Catholic (4A-5A)	1997-98	Valley Christian High School (1A-3A)
2007-08	Horizon (4A-5A) Tie	1997-98	No Recipient (4A-5A)
2007-08	Mountain View (Mesa) (4A-5A) Tie	1996-97	Seton Catholic High School (1A-3A)
2006-07	Sandra Day O'Connor (4A-5A)	1996-97	Thunderbird High School (4A-5A) Tie
2005-06	Deer Valley (4A-5A)	1996-97	Mountain Pointe High School (4A-5A) Tie
2005-06	Mountain Pointe (4A-5A)	1995-96	Salome High School (1A-3A)
2003-00	River Valley (1A-3A)	1995-96	Xavier College Preparatory (4A-5)
2004-05	Flowing Wells (4A-5A)	1994-95	No Recipient
2003-04	Phoenix Country Day (1A-3A)	1993-94	Safford High School (1A-3A)
2003-04	Catalina Foothills (4A-5A)	1993-94	Cactus High School (4A-5A)
2002-03	Ray High School (1A-3A) Tie	1992-93	San Simon High School (1A-3A)
2002-03	Scottsdale Christian (1A-3A) Tie	1992-93	Canyon del Oro High School (4A-5A) Tie
2002-03	Flagstaff High School (4A-5A)	1992-93	Sahuaro High School (4A-5A) Tie
2001-02	Salome (1A-3A)	1991-92	Valley Union High School (1A-3A)
2001-02	Mountain Ridge (4A-5A)	1991-92	Sabino High School (4A-5A)
2000-01	Camelback High School (4A-5A)	1990-91	Independence High School (1A-5A)
2000-01	No Recipient (1A-3A)	1989-90	Salpointe Catholic High School (1A-5A) Tie
1999-00	St. Michael High School (1A-3A)	1989-90	Ironwood High School (1A-5A) Tie
1999-00	Sabino High School (4A-5A)	1988-89	Xavier College Preparatory (1A-5A)
1998-99	Desert Christian High School (1A-3A) Tie		
1998-99	Sahuarita High School (1A-3A) Tie		
1990-99	Sanuania migh School (TA-SA) Tie		

DR. VOIE STUART CHASE COY SCHOLAR-ATHLETE AWARD PROGRAM

In 1989 the AIA Executive Board established a scholar-athlete award program to recognize high school students and schools who demonstrate their commitment to academics in conjunction with athletics/activities as a foundation for success. On May 3, 1999, the Executive Board renamed the program the Dr. Voie Stuart Chase Coy Scholar-Athlete Award Program. Dr. Coy served as Executive Director from 1987-1999.

This annual program has three categories for which member schools may apply. The categories are as follows:

Individual Award: Any member of a varsity athletic team or AIA sanctioned activity program who achieves a

3.5 or higher grade point average is eligible for a Certificate of Recognition.

Team Award: Any varsity athletic team or AIA sanctioned activity program that achieves a cumulative

grade point average of 3.5 will receive recognition on the AIA Honor Roll.

Scholar-Athlete/ Scholar-Activity Participant Of The Year: Any member school may submit an application for a senior boy and/or girl who has been a member of a varsity athletic team or AIA sanctioned activity program for two years and has maintained a 3.75 or higher grade point average for seven semesters. Each of the applicants will receive a Certificate of Recognition.

<u>Scholar-Athlete</u>: Five boy and five girl finalists are selected from the applicants. From the finalists, a boy and girl from the 1A-3A Conference and a boy and girl from the 4A-5A

Conference are chosen to be a Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

<u>Scholar-Activity Participant</u>: Three boy and three girl finalists are selected from the applicants. From the finalists, a boy and girl from the 1A-3A and a boy and girl from the

4A-5A Conference are chosen to be a Scholar-Activity Member of the Year.